MIC

MIC = Minimum Inhibition Concentration. This term is used in antimicrobial assay, by using 96-well microplate.

My planning for today is trying 9 compounds towards 2 types of bacteria, 2 microplates used.

Today, the air-conditioner suddenly dis-functioned, and I was wearing mask that time, to avoid the contamination caused by the breathing out.  On the Bunsen burner in the laminar hood. So, for the whole process of doing MIC, I felt very hot that time, sweating a lot that time. Is grateful that God granted me peace and patience. How would I sit so long there under so hot condition?! And I was paying full concentration. LOL.

Doing 18 rows of serial dilution, changing tips for every well, 8 x 18 = 144 times. Gosh. Fingers very tired and pain. 144 times is at least, you get me, including growth control, negative control, positive control and sterility control, and bacteria introduction to every well, change one tip for each row, at least 170 micropipette tips.

By the way, is getting familiar with MIC. I shall train myself more in pipetting skills. I must get myself skillful with that.

A big applause for myself today…ganbatte kudasai to myself.

Leave a comment