antioxidant assay by microplate

As the title mentioned, antioxidant assay by microplate…it was began with a senior that saw me washed so many glasswares at a time…then the senior asked me about that. Then she taught me this method. Jump to conclusion first, it is very easy and very fast, LESS THINGS to wash…LOL.

I finished 50% of my FYP on Tuesday, which is 3 days ago. Then Wednesday onwards actually I no need to come to campus, because my partner hasn’t finish her part yet, so can’t proceed to antimicrobial assays. However, on Tuesday, the senior told me about that method, Wednesday should have trying that, but I forgot why I didn’t do that, however, tried that on yesterday and today. So far so good…^^ I only need to wash the micropipette tips and the microplate. The microplate no need to be thrown away because it is not dealing with microbes, so no need waste resources. Oh, by the way, my boss doesn’t know that I am doing this, so, don’t tell anyone ya…shhh…lolz.

What I need are only micropipette and the tips, 1.5 mL centrifuge tubes which can be just thrown away after using them, and a beaker for the used micropipette tips to be washed later. All this begin with prepare the master stock solution, then from the master stock, prepare the substock solution and also the DPPH solution. Then now is the turn of the role of microplate. Fill in the wells that involved with methanol, then with samples, the last is DPPH. Incubate for 15 minutes, then read it with microplate reader. Just as easy as that. And to finish the testing of one compound, needs only less than half an hour, compared to almost 45 minutes if used the not very appropriate method…!!! Yeah!!!

Tried it with the BHA, which is a standard antioxidant compound and 2 compounds that I wished to repeat the test (shown error in reading of absorbance). So far so good…^^ Happy with this…=)

Leave a comment