better performance for DPPH assay

Today, was thought to be lazy. But then…ah, skip all those craps…lol

I remembered boss wanted me to run the standard antioxidant compound, BHA (butylated hydroxyanisole) as reference. But KC was not here today. So asked help from another senior, Lisa to call KC to get it. Lastly, I got the BHA, and get the amount I wanted. Wow, the smell…ehem…@@, my lab coat now add on another smell…=.=

Boss insisted me to run 2 compounds today, which were BHA and another compound with functional group of O-methyl group. When the time I got the BHA, was already near noon. So went to have lunch then come back to do. Prepare the stock solutions of the 2 compounds. I was “praying” that, no more errors, please. At the meanwhile, I was very careful in every steps. I don’t want boss to show me the “black face” again. Ok, when start to do the DPPH assay, everything is rushing. Rushing with time. I was competing with the time intervals.

After I prepared the stock solutions, I ran to downstairs to initialize the UV-VIS spec. Then when was near the 30th minute, got everything ready. My precaution steps were good enough, the BHA standard’s readings were nice. Can see the obvious and distince colour change of DPPH solution from purple to light purple or from purple to light yellow.

When running the sample that needed to be tested, my control’s reading is lower than the other concentration’s…what’s wrong. Damn it, I have to cheat a bit…(don’t imitate me). However, if excluded that, my result was nice. Hooray!!!

So damn busy and rush today…but I think I am calm enough…^^ If not, I can’t get the results that supposed to be.

Felt happy for myself today… because boss smiled and explained to me the results that I got.

Leave a comment