nice day

Reached campus around 9:45am. Then was thinking what to do next. Today sure need to perform DPPH assay, and need to wait for my boss in order to start it. Not long later, saw my boss arrived campus. Then later, he came to me and said the best UV-VIS spectrophotometer is in malfunction state…>.< and asked me to search for lab officer to look for other UV-VIS spectrophotometer (UV-VIS spec.) that is available. Then start my walking and searching for lab officer…a lot of searching and finding in between; cut it short, found other UV-VIS spec that is available.

Start work around 11am, I supposed. Then cut it short the story, finally we (my partner and me) made my boss mad…lolz. But still I don’t consider it as scold…(face too thick), I consider it as…hmm, suddenly I can’t find a word…lol. Mistakes in between. Ok, I know I shall not make mistakes, but this can’t be avoided. I will explain the reason here. Well, almost everybody is scared of my boss, everybody will be nervous when see my boss is around the lab. We are not used to his style, and, and his look and whatever it is, is giving us the force, tension, suddenly both of us nervous like hell. Our hands were shivering when we were doing our work. Blood pressure suddenly spike high, is true, oh gosh, blood circulation would be very good in condition like that. Work that time was preparing stock solution for DPPH assay, so steps: pipette…pipette…pipette…fingers were exercised that time…lol

Then, while my partner was preparing the stock solution for second compound, I was asked to prepare DPPH solution. Dissolve the DPPH solid in methanol and top up to 100mL with methanol in volumetric flask. Fuh, this one easy, but still he is watching…tension…@@ Even I top up the flask with methanol, my hands were shivering…=.=

Ok, the reading by UV-VIS spec. At first the result was weird. Then only we realized the mistake…@@ Nearly got scold again… Never mind. Learn from mistake. Then my job is to deal with the machine and my partner was dealing with jotting down of result (like that the work is finished faster, for that time). Open -> close -> click “auto zero” -> open -> put in blank/sample -> close…these steps repeated for at least 18 times…my hands… And it seems gonna rain that time, and those steps were driving me mad…@@

Then the result looked ok. He smiled when he saw the result. Finally boss smiled. Yeah! Next week, no more trial and error, means we really need to do it in real and no mistakes is allowed. We have “assignment” to do, which is plot the graph and determine the IC (underscore 50) and need to show to my boss. So, assignment ahead!

By the way, actually under his supervision, although is tension and causing high blood pressure, yet can make us produce good work and promote efficiency as boss is a demanding person. His research assistant, KC was kinda like telling and advising me how to do and what to react next time. At least this is a good experience, if without boss’s supervision, we might not produce high efficiency work. Come on, keep it up!!! ^^


Leave a comment